New to Profiler...How to

Hello, I'm kind of new to profiler and was curious about how I can get this to work the best for my business.

I support an application that has around 1000 concurrent users. We recently had a stress/load test with around 500 users to test our upgrade from .NET 1.1 to .NET 3.5 and the system came to it's knees. It is a WinForms application with all database connections/activity via webservices. Since that test, I've been tasked with trying to figure out why the system is so bad only in .NET 3.5. My first thought is that it's a memory leak problem, but obviously with a system this large, there are many possibilities.

I've had a copy of ANTS Profiler for awhile but have never used it. So here's my question, since this is a server based application that lives in a separate domain from my machine is located, do I install profiler on the server itself then? I tried running it from my own machine and it wasn't able to catch anything. Is this program designed to be able to track multiple users/sessions in the system, or do want to test with only 1 user, and try and process as many of the 1000 different transactions that can be done.

If more background info of the system is needed, please let me know. Any help on this subject is greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
andegre

Comments

• As a follow-up to my first post...

When running this against the hosted website (iis), it does not catch any of my code, only the system code. Where am I going wrong in my setup?
  • Ok, how bout this...

Does Visual Studio need to be installed in order to view all of the methods that profiler is supposed to be able to catch?