SQL Backup Pro 7 - SQBCoreservice.exe - Running at 97% CPU

SteveHSteveH Posts: 1 New member
I am new to this tool and reviewing this on a production environment. I have noticed that when logging onto the GUI and server(s) are listed, it starts to retrieve backup history for these. SQBCOREservice.exe process on the server can use up to 98% CPU for several minutes which in turn impacts on the resource on the server available to other processes. I log off SQL Backup Pro 7, but the process still consumes resource.
I have checked various threads on the web, and it is suggested that this high cpu is caused by retrieval of backup history. Logging out does not notify the agent which continues to completion. The solution is to restart SCBCoreService.exe.
Under the circumstances I am reluctant to logon to the backup GUI during the working day. Is there a known fix\workaround to this issue?
Thanks!
Tagged:

Answers

• Eddie DEddie D Posts: 1,780 Rose Gold 5
    Hi, thank you for your forum post.

The SQBCoreService.exe or the SQL Backup Agent service, controls all functionality of SQL Backup. It communicates with the SQL Backup GUI when the server is registered in the SQL server pane.

The SQBCoreService.exe will continue if there are backup and restore tasks in progress. The SQL Backup Agent service controls the communications with SQL Server when performing a backup or restore task and performs the actual backup and restore process, creating the VDI, compressing and (if configured) encrypting the backup data when performing a backup job or decrypting and uncompressing the backup data when performing a restore. So if you have a busy server with a lot of databases, performing backups throughout the day it will use a lot of processor resource.