ReadyRoll vs DLM Automation

Sean_BSean_B Posts: 11 New member
I am new to RedGate. My manager has purchased us licenses, but I am a bit confused:

1. What is the difference between ReadyRoll and DLM Autoamtion? Their purposes seem to overlap considerably.
2. When would I use ReadyRoll?
3. When would I use DLM Automation?

Current Tools we Use: TFS, Visual Studio 2015, Red Gate, Telerik
Tagged:

Comments

• AlexMBanksAlexMBanks Posts: 15 Bronze 2
    You're right that they overlap in that they serve the same purpose - to automate the database build/test/deploy cycle.

The difference is in their approach: ReadyRoll uses (mostly) a traditional migrations-based approach, where you code up the changes as if you're working directly on a database (ALTER, ADD/DROP COLUMN, INSERT, etc.). It then runs the pre-written scripts in a pre-determined order. It gives developers complete control over the SQL that is written, but also gives them complete responsibility.

DLM Automation uses a few other tools, namely SQL Source Control and SQL Compare. SQL Source Control uses the state-based approach, in that you make your changes on the database and these are always checked into SVN as CREATE statements (generated by the tool). When you build/deploy, SQL Compare will look at your source (SVN, a database, or scripts folder) and your target (usually a database) and generate a migration script to get from A to B. This means you don't need to spend time writing a lot of SQL for simple changes, which is great, but it does mean that you are trusting the tool to get it right every time.

This is a quick summary - both tools provide some 'hybrid' features - ReadyRoll has Programmable Objects and SQL Source Control has Migration Scripts.

Your team will probably have a preference or standard for using one approach vs the other. Learn the process first, then the tools - both have great features and unique advantages and disadvantages.