Installing on 2 cluster nodes

kingrudedogkingrudedog Posts: 9
edited October 1, 2010 11:21PM in SQL Backup Previous Versions
I am a little confused as to the steps for installing redgate sql backup on a cluster.

All the instructions just point to installing server componenents. But this isn't the sql backup executable, correct? This is installed as part (or seperately if desired) from the initial kickoff, isn't it?

Does anyone have a step doc for a fresh install?

Sorry, I am a bit new to sql backup...

Appreciate any help a great deal.

Comments

• peteypetey Posts: 2,358 New member
    Peter Yeoh
    SQL Backup Consultant Developer
    Associate, Yohz Software
    Beyond compression - SQL Backup goodies under the hood, updated for version 8
  • I have always done the manual (using SQBServerSetup.exe) install on each of my cluster nodes. Feels safer that way without permission issues

This is for both 2005 SP3 and 2008 R2 clusters
    Jerry Hung
    DBA, MCITP
  • Shouldn't you only have to do the cluster component install on the active node and it will auto install on the passive node?

Or do I need to run this on each?
    Installing the server components on the 'local' node is the easy part. The complicated part is installing the server components on the 'remote' node. This entails copying the SQL Backup server components setup file (SQBServerSetup.exe) to a folder on the remote node, running the setup silently there, and checking the setup status after that.

On systems where security is tight, one or both of the first 2 steps usually fail. If you think about it, it's rather scary that an application (the installer) was able to copy an executable file to a remote machine AND run it on that machine. With regards to checking the setup status, the installer can sometimes report false negatives, again due to security restrictions.