What are the challenges you face when working across database platforms? Take the survey
Options

Project automatically picking up a renamed table?

I am using data compare for Oracle 6.0.23.1366. I have created a project, selected the two databases (which happen to be clones restored from the same snapshot) and selected a subset of tables for the tool to compare - about 10 tables from the 100 in the database. Then saved the project. The project runs fine via execution in the gui and via a batch file - comparing only the tables it has been configured to compare. We have been running this process happily once a day for awhile.

Then, one day, our DBA renamed an unrelated table in the database in preparation for deletion of this table. The clone process restored the two databases for comparison which now included the renamed table. The next run of DataCompare picked up this renamed table and compared it - even though it was not saved as part of the saved project configuration.

The table being deleted was huge and the resultant compare blew the disk on the server.

Is this a known issue with the product and is there a way to prevent this behaviour?


Tagged:

Answers

  • Options
    Kurt_MKurt_M Posts: 187 Silver 1
    Hi @monolith

    There is a behavior option in Schema Compare for Oracle to detect renamed columns.
     

     
    However the above option is not available in Data Compare for Oracle.

    If you are comparing from script files, it is possible that the files still have reference to the old table / column names. It might be worth re-creating these if changes, such as the renamed table, occur again in the future. Likewise, it might be worth setting up a new project just in case of these references.

    Kind regards,

    Kurt McCormick
    Product Support Engineer, Redgate

    Need help? Take a look at our Help Center

  • Options
    monolithmonolith Posts: 2 New member
    Thanks Kurt

    In my case, the scripts I created executed a saved project that never had a reference to the table that was changed - not the original table and not the renamed table.

    It appears that the Oracle version of the product automatically detects new columns and includes them in a compare. 

    This seems like very undesirable behaviour to me. The default should be the opposite - honour the project settings that the user has saved. 

    You can't expect a user to save a new project file to exclude a changed column when they may not be aware the column is being changed in the first place....

  • Options
    Just for anyone else coming across this, I did raise this as a support case for further discussion. What @monolith is stating is valid and a workaround for anyone needing one is to use the 'Ignore' tab to specify the list of tables you ONLY wish to monitor within that comparison project. This will then ignore any outside changes such as modifications to the name.

    The behaviour raised has been mentioned to the development team.

    Kind regards,

    Kurt McCormick
    Product Support Engineer, Redgate

    Need help? Take a look at our Help Center

Sign In or Register to comment.