Options

How can I set breakpoints in a .NET WinForms app during profiling?

I am trying to figure out a severe performance issue in my application, and would like to be able to step through some of it while using the profiler.
Tagged:

Best Answer

  • Options
    Peter_LawsPeter_Laws Posts: 237 Silver 2
    Answer ✓
    Support of .Net 8 is presently the priority, I'm afraid I can't speak for the plugins presently.

    I apologise for this weak offering; you could temporarily add another older VS install just for this troubleshooting and then remove it, it's not a good solution but it does avoid any wait time.
    Kind regards
    Peter Laws | Redgate Software
    Have you visited our Help Center?

Answers

  • Options
    Hello SAW1980 ,

    I believe the only way you achieve this is via the integrated plugin.
    https://marketplace.visualstudio.com/items?itemName=vs-publisher-306627.ANTSPerformanceProfiler

    Kind regards
    Peter Laws | Redgate Software
    Have you visited our Help Center?
  • Options
    SAW1980SAW1980 Posts: 6 New member
    edited May 29, 2024 1:17PM
    Hi Peter_Laws,

    Thanks for this. I did not try that because it only says it's compatible up to VS2017. We are using 2022, will it work in this environment?

    Additionally, I have a dev bundle pro (11) license. When I click on the download link in the page you shared, it just takes me to the main red-gate page for Performance Profiler...

    Thanks again!
  • Options
    As for accessing it, I've always used the integrated VS marketplace within the application rather than the webpage. Once the plugin is installed it will performed a one time licensing query and respect your bundle licence.

    I'm not certain if it will work for VS22, we haven't tested it or we'd have updated the plugin description.
    Kind regards
    Peter Laws | Redgate Software
    Have you visited our Help Center?
  • Options
    SAW1980SAW1980 Posts: 6 New member
    I’ll try to find it again in the marketplace. Thank you!
  • Options
    SAW1980SAW1980 Posts: 6 New member
    Using the integrated marketplace, no ANTS items are found, and searching for Red-Gate only returns SQL tools. Am I missing something maybe?
  • Options
    SAW1980SAW1980 Posts: 6 New member
    As for accessing it, I've always used the integrated VS marketplace within the application rather than the webpage. Once the plugin is installed it will performed a one time licensing query and respect your bundle licence.

    I'm not certain if it will work for VS22, we haven't tested it or we'd have updated the plugin description.
    Hello, Peter.

    I finally found the extension, but it won't install to VS 2022. Is there any chance the extension will be updated to included the latest Visual Studio?

    Thanks!
  • Options
    SAW1980SAW1980 Posts: 6 New member
    Thank you. I have thought about doing that. 
Sign In or Register to comment.