Options

Evolutionary Database Design

Hi!

It's my first time in this forum! But I need your help and if you can help me I would really appreciate it.

I am trying to start building a new version control (migration based - Flyway) and database CI/CD system in my company.

Currently I think we don't work in the right way, i.e. we just develop in DEV (database that all SQL Developers access) and then do releases for UAT and PROD with a package using sqlcmd (.bat file).

Lately I've been reading about: "Evolutionary Database Design" (https://martinfowler.com/articles/evodb.html) and I find it quite interesting but I needed help on some questions.

This case would be to apply in existing and huge databases that have a lot of complexity so I don't think it will be that easy to change and I need your help.

In all the documentation I see they do tests on dockers and so on and in the "Evolutionary Database Design" model they say that: "Everybody gets their own database instance" and this is one of the points that makes me confused, I always worked in a DEV database (as well as other SQL Developers) and developed there and then we would test and move to UAT and only then to PROD.

I have seen something like vagrant and have VM with SQL Server, but I am a bit lost in this part. How can I get self-contained ("sandbox") (docker, vagrant, etc.) SQL Server to achieve: "Everybody gets their own database instance"?

Tagged:

Answers

• Options
    Hello tg_dev3,

Thank you for the fantastic question!

That article encapsulates well many of the issues teams are facing, even more so in the scenario you're describing where the implementations are complex, as they tend to be the most change aversed for (sometimes justifiable) fear of unintended consequences.