Redacted Parameters

I am a SQL Monitor Admin and an SysAdmin on all the SQL Servers it monitors.  Why does it say redacted when I try to view the parameters of the execution plan?  Is this a setting somewhere?

Best Answer

• Alex BAlex B Posts: 1,131 Diamond 4
    Hi @lmacdonald,

The team have delved further and found that we were not, in fact, using the permission and so everything was being redacted.  The developers have now made a fix for this, which should be available in the release this week (usually Wednesday) and I will update here again when that is available.

Kind regards,
    Alex
    Product Support Engineer | Redgate Software

Have you visited our Help Center?

Answers

• lmacdonaldlmacdonald Posts: 7 New member
    If I copy the "SELECT query_plan FROM sys.dm_exec_query_plan" statement and run that in management studio I can see the parameters.
  • Hi @lmacdonald

Thanks for reaching out on the Redgate forums regarding your SQL Monitor query.

Certainly, there are some details which you can check regarding redacted details of execution plans.

In UserPermissionsMapper.cs there is a line - "Permissions.QueryPlans.CanViewParameters" for admin permissions. If you have an admin role in SQL Monitor then they should be able to see them.

Depending on what authentication type (BASIC, AD, OIDC) you are using there is another check you can do.

• If AD or OIDC check SELECT * FROM settings.AuthPrincipals AS ap​ for their user and see if PrincipalRole is 1 (admin) - or just get the result for the user for all columns and we can have a look
    • If BASIC auth, then see if they are logging in with the admin user.

Hope this helps track down the settings to alter the behaviour in your Monitor deployment

Jon Kirkwood | Technical Support Engineer | Redgate Software