How do you use cloud databases? Take the survey.
Options

Method to moving existing SQL Server RedGateMonitor Repository DB to Azure SQL DB (PAAS)

Hi Support,

I am trying to move the existing RedGateMonitor DB Repository currently installed on an Azure VM SQL Server Machine (which is also the web server and base monitor combined) to an Azure SQL Database (PAAS) which already has a blank database RedGateMonitor setup ready to take a copy of the existing database and take over.

I am new to Azure SQL and need some help.
The Restore from backup command is not supported in Azure SQL.

Can a full copy only backup be put into blob storage and restored from there or should it be deployed/migrated from the current live database on the Azure SQL Server VM?

I have been through the documentation and forums

https://documentation.red-gate.com/sm/installation-and-setup/planning-the-sql-monitor-infrastructure-and-installation/sql-monitor-database-requirements?_ga=2.241470987.840114196.1617867086-2073268185.1614000752&_gac=1.45426320.1617867086.EAIaIQobChMIt6jxwpDu7wIVzO7tCh0j-gWvEAAYAiAAEgIle_D_BwE

https://documentation.red-gate.com/sm/maintaining-and-upgrading-sql-monitor/maintaining-sql-monitor/moving-the-sql-monitor-database

For Azure SQL are there any special connection strings that are not within the above link documentation for connecting to an Azure SQL Database ?

I do not want to lose the data that is already in the existing database. I do not want to use the drastic option of reinstalling the base server and starting over with the data.

Thanks Phil
Tagged:

Answers

• Options
    I successfully moved the RedGateMonitor Database from Azure SQL Server VM to Azure SQL DB.