Options

ScriptInMigrations vs UseRepeatableScriptsForAllObjects

Can someone please explain the difference between ScriptInMigrations and UseRepeatableScriptsForAllObjects in the ProgrammableObjectHandling setting? I've already read the definition in the Redgate documentation, but I'm brand new to SCA and I don't understand the documentation.

Even better, when would I want to use one over the other? What are the pros/cons to each?

I see that the migration scripts generated by SCA (I use the SSMS plugin) do not include the programmable objects (views, sprocs, etc). As best I can tell, in order to see the real script that will run on a target database (including programmable objects) I must use the PowerShell cmdlets to generate the full script. If I were to use the ScriptInMigrations setting, would I be able to see the full migration script, including programmable objects, in the migrations script folder without needing PowerShell cmdlets? If so, that sounds nice, but what is the downside?

Thank you very much. This is all very new to me and I appreciate the help.
Tagged:

Best Answer

• Options
    DanCDanC Posts: 592 Gold 4
    Hi @AdamY

I'll try my best to explain from my understanding of the differences and hopefully, this will help you!

Using ScriptInMigrations:
    The first thing to note is this will Disable Programmable Objects which will then script all objects into a single migration script

Benefit:
    - Using migration scripts only are simpler and easier to understand, you will avoid dependency issues and it's easier to understand the deployment order just by looking at the migration scripts

Using UseRepeatableScriptsForAllObjects: