Speed up rules?

Hi, newbie here. Running with just one substitution rule (street address) on one big table took about three times longer than a SQL UPDATE statement on the same column with an SET that replaced existing vales keeping the first letter and adding a hard coded string.
Is this as expected or can I speed things up?
Tagged:

Best Answer

• PlantBasedSQLPlantBasedSQL Posts: 187 Gold 4
    Answer ✓
    Thanks @SSimon, absolutely not a problem! We're here and happy to help make sure you get up and running properly! You actually have 3 options here :smile:

1) The solution from my first reply above (plus increasing the number of Workers at the top of Data Masker) should help speed it up and give you nice realistic values.

2) You can implement your UPDATE logic via a Row-Internal Sync rule (Video here: https://www.red-gate.com/hub/university/courses/sql-provision/sql-provision/synchronising-masked-information/row-internal-synchronisation-rules) will allow you to implement your logic, but still keep the NULL/Empty cell checks, so you still end up with a realistic distribution

3) If you would actually just like to implement a single UPDATE statement but have it run as part of your Data Masker rules, then you can do so using a command rule (which you'll find under Advanced Rules) and is just t-sql :smile:

My preference is always for 1 above, because of the split ranges and realistic values, but of course you have the complete freedom to choose what works best for you!

Let me know if t here's anything else I can do to help!
    Thank you very much!

Answers

• Hi @SSimon Thanks for your question!

First thing - may I ask which version of Data Masker you're running, how large the table is that you're running this rule over (row count) and how long the masking is taking please? If you're able to provide the rows/second figure as well that would be helpful!