How to mask multiple tables at the same time without primary key and foreign key relationships?

Hello -- I'm new to using SQL Data masker by Red Gate. I have multiple tables that have same column names and data types. But they do not have Primary key foreign key relationships established.

So instead of masking one table at a time or using table to table rule that only allows to mask 2 tables at a time, is their a way to apply the same rule to multiple tables even though their is no Primary key foreign key relationship?

The similar columns for example in all tables are BashQualifyID, WTN, FirstName, LastName, StreetAdrress, City, State and Zip. 
Tagged:

Best Answer

• Alex BAlex B Posts: 1,132 Diamond 4
    Hi @KBSingh,

If you are creating row internal rules on columns which have the same name, the "Bulk Rule Generator" tool is available on the bottom of the Rules in Set tab. Just select a Template rule and it will auto generate multiple identical rules.

You can also use the Sync Manager rule to accomplish something like this where you create a substitution rule and convert it into a Sync Manager rule, then add similarly named columns to be included in the sync manager.  This will make all distinct entries in a column map to the same value so "Bob" will turn into "Sam" in all tables for example.

If you don't need that and just need a way to quickly duplicate rules to mask same named columns in different tables, you can also manually duplicate the XML of the rules and change the rule numbers and the tables involved.

The trick is to create an empty masking set with a rule controller and all of the schema information. Then create one Substitution rule to use as a template. Edit the Masking Set - it is XML so any text editor will do the job and copy out the section that describes the masking rule. The tags in the XML are readily understandable so it is usually not a problem to see what is going on in a simple masking set.