Options

Oracle connections via Secure External Password Store don't appear to work properly.

I'm a seasoned DBA working with a large number of developers. Developers do not have elevated privilege access to our QA or production environments. I'm wanting to set up a client-side wallet so this tool can access those environments without requiring login/password information. I've setup sqlnet.ora and ldap.ora (we don't use tnsnames.ora) and can connect via the wallet entry using SQL*Plus on my local machine without issue. However, your product (Schema Compare) fires off an ORA-01017 (invalid login/password). Yet when I use normal credentialed login procedures via Schema Compare, the test works just fine. I don't know where the disconnect is located, but any feedback is very welcome.
Tagged:

Answers

• Options
    Alex BAlex B Posts: 1,133 Diamond 4
    Hi @JeffCote00,

As far as I know our tools are not designed to work in that manner.  Are you using the "Manual Connection" tab to specify something that is included in one of those files?  And how are the files connecting to each other to present something that you would enter in the Schema Compare for Oracle UI to connect?  I'd like to try and reproduce what you're trying to do here to see if it should be possible the way the tool works.

Kind regards,
    Alex
    Product Support Engineer | Redgate Software

Have you visited our Help Center?
  • Options
    Hi @JeffCote00
    Here you will get an answer
    Secure External Password Store
    It is often necessary to make connections to the database from shell scripts held on the filesystem. This can be a major security issue if these scripts contain the database connection details. One solution is to use OS Authentication, but Oracle 10g Release 2 gives us the option of using a secure external password store where the Oracle login credentials are stored in a client-side Oracle wallet. This allows scripts to contain connections using the "/@db_alias" syntax