How do you use cloud databases? Take the survey.
Options

Unable to get the performance of monitored SQL server

Hi,

I am newbie here, and would like to evaluate the product to resolve daily routine issues with SQL.

I have added a server in SQL Monitor, and can see the DB's reside on it and also some alerts for backup overdue.

Unfortunately I couldn't figure out why I can't see the SQL server performance graphs under Analysis tab.

Although I can see monitored server events log and WMI showing connected.

Could you please help me to fix this issue.
Tagged:

Best Answer

• Options
    AatifAliAatifAli Posts: 5 New member
    Thanks for the cooperation from all of you.

Issue resolved with assistance of Redgate Support. It was due to multiple base monitor with single NIC

Answers

• Options
    Do you get the missing information in Perfmon itself, outside of SQL Monitor?
    Have you visited our Help Centre?
  • Options
    Thanks for the response, I can check the server and SQL performance by other means like through PRTG.

Some how I noticed events of Clock Skew on the monitored server, which lead to the time syncing issues.

Both instances running in AWS in same AZ but with different VPCs. I have Windows 2016 with SQL 2016 Server which need to be monitored and SQL monitor itself installed on Windows 2016 with SQL Express edition. I am accessing the monitor server through it's local IP and added via hostname using host file instead of DNS name.

I am working to sync the time on windows 2016 server manually, but it also has the challenge to change a time on Production SQL server.

Any suggestion would be really helpful for me, as I have to explore it and quickly purchase it to get the commercial support as well.
  • Options
    Alex BAlex B Posts: 1,132 Diamond 4
    Hi @AatifAli

I think clock skew can cause missed data collections, but I would expect it to be intermittent rather than not showing any data (and for more than just SQL Server collections).