Options

SQL Source Control does not show changes done by other authors

Hello All,

I am totally new to Redgate Toolbelt and I might come up with a number of questions on the forum. Anyway, I am using the latest version of SQL source control (Version 5.7.6.6321) and if there are 2 different authors making changes in the same object, while viewing the history for the objects, we are not able to see changes from all authors.

E.g. If user A and B are making changes in the object C. User A can view only the history pertaining to user A and the same goes for user B.

What do I need to do in order to view the full history? User A should be able to view all the changes done by user B and vice versa.

Regards,
Anant

Comments

• Options
    Can you tell me what version control system you are using (e.g. Git, TFS, SVN, working folder mode) and whether you selected shared or dedicated mode when you linked?
    Development Lead
    Redgate Software
  • Options
    Anant10486Anant10486 Posts: 5 New member
    Hello Mike,

It is TFS and Shared Mode.

Regards,
    Anant
  • Options
    AlexYatesAlexYates Posts: 264 Rose Gold 2
    edited August 10, 2017 2:56PM
    Hi Anant,

Did user A and B commit their changes yet or are we talking about uncommitted changes?

The history is read from the source control system, in your case TFS. If user A and user B had not yet committed changes you just see the last TFS version vs latest db version and the most recent author's username in the commit tab. (This information is retrieved from the default trace).

If both users had committed to source control I would have expected both changes to show up in the history tab. If this is not happening probably you should speak to the dev team. (Mike U :-)

Of course, this does mean there is a possibility that one user might overwrite another persons code if the first developer had not yet committed to source control. If this concerns you take a look at the locking feature: