Options

VSTF build and release confusion

Hi,

I'm having trouble working out how ReadyRoll will integrate with our VSTF build and release process - I'm totally new to ReadyRoll so hopefully it's my own inexperience which is the problem.

We currently have a build process that works fine and a release process that is creating a web application and an empty Azure SQL database (these are for running end to end and acceptance tests and will be taken down after testing).

The app and database do not exist until after the build process - what I'm having trouble with is that ReadyRoll appears to requires us to specify a target database in the build process (we are using the ReadyRoll nuget package) and this database will not actually exist until after the release process has run.

Am I missing something simple here or do we actually have to have a test database already up and running before the build runs?
Tagged:

Comments

• Options
    Alex TAlex T Posts: 5 New member
    It looks like you're on the right track.

You shouldn't need to specify the TargetDatabase build parameter, because this is only needed for generating the diff report and the patch script. These artifacts are useful for previewing what changes/scripts are going to be applied to a specific environment -- most users tend to choose Production as a target.

As long as you run the steps that create your database before the Deploy ReadyRoll Database Package step in your release definition, everything should work just fine.

See this article for more information.
    Software Engineer
    Redgate Software
  • Options
    Hi - This worked a treat to get the build working. We are now experiencing problems with the VSTS release Deploy ReadyRoll Database Package step.

The parameter 'Target SQL Server Instance' is causing the process to error.
    The input box is asking for the fully qualified SQL server instance name.