Create database or Simple Sql execution Example please

pspeltzpspeltz Posts: 5
edited August 29, 2007 12:27PM in SQL Toolkit Previous Versions
Hi. I am new to this toolkit and have been searching a couple hours now through the API docs and examples for how to *Create* a database from a snapshot using the toolkit.

Our use case is this:
If the DB exists,
synch it with the snapshot
else
create it with the snapshot
end if

The synch part is well demonstated in the examples. However, i am either missing it or there is no example of creating a database using the toolkit.
For that matter, I cant find an example to execute simple sql statements.
Can anyone point me in the right direction or give me an example of how to do this?

Thanks.

Comments

• Hi there,

Sorry but at the current time there is no method to create a database within the SQL Compare API or the UI. If you wish to create a database you will have to do it within your own code, then call the SQL Compare API to synchronise the source snapshot with the newly created empty target database.

> "For that matter, I cant find an example to execute simple sql statements."

Sorry, but I am not quite with you here, can you expand on this? Are you attempting to execute your own custom SQL via the API or trying to execute the SQL Compare synchronisation script?

Regards,

Jonathan
    Jonathan Watts

-Project Manager
    -Red Gate Software Ltd
  • Hi. Thank you for the help, Jonathan.
    Hi there,

> "For that matter, I cant find an example to execute simple sql statements."

Sorry, but I am not quite with you here, can you expand on this? Are you attempting to execute your own custom SQL via the API or trying to execute the SQL Compare synchronisation script?

Regards,

Jonathan