Options

Activation Concerns

Greetings,

I'm considering purchasing a license to ANTS Profiler 2. I'm an independant developer and not even a business. I do not like the profiler that comes with my MSDN Team Developer subscription. I find ANTS to be much simpler to digest.

My hardware changes frequently. I'm always plopping in new video cards and more/different RAM and changing monitors (now I have a 19" but soon I'll have a 22" and not long after I'll update to two 24" wides). My primary hard disk is removable so I can develop within different environments though I'm moving more towards virtualization in that area and will expect to be able to install this in a virtual environment since that is how I get my configuration/OS difference and I develop in those environments when necessary, not just test.

I'm about to build a new PC that is a dual dual-core and within the year afterwords will change the CPU's two a dual quad-core configuration.

I've been burned by other hardware-hash activation schemes in the past and am naturally reluctant to spend any money on a product that will cause me stress in the future. I simply refuse to support financially a product that rewards me with licensing grief.

My question is how friendly to me needs will this product be? Right now the Team Suite product does quite a bit what I need and doesn't require me to activate everytime I change something and it appears AQTime doesn't either (based on a cursory internet search) but each present results in a way that make my head ache-and-spin. Nonetheless, they are competitive advantages that I'll heavily consider. Ease of use is fine, but not being harrassed by a licensing enforcer when I'm not violating the license (or rather the licensing itself is too restrictive) makes it moot.