Options

confused about 'from current snapshot show only' checkbox

Steven BlachmanSteven Blachman Posts: 2
edited May 19, 2014 11:24AM in ANTS Memory Profiler 8
I am a newbie, confused about the 'from current snapshot show only' checkbox. I am comparing a baseline snapshot and a later one, looking for objects created between the two snapshots and still present. These may or may not be leaks.

FWIW I have read the online documentation several times but am still confused.

With this checkbox unchecked it shows a comparison between the two baselines, some objects have more (positive numbers) instances, some have the same (0 delta) and some show fewer instances (negative numbers). Well and good.

However, with the check box checked and the 'New objects' buttton selected, I still see some positive, 0, and negative instance differences but these numbers are not the same as I see with the checkbox unchecked. What is the difference here?

With the check box checked and the 'Survivors in growing classes' buttton selected (which is what I thought I wanted to do) it only shows classes that have the same or fewer instances. I dont understand this either. How can I have negative survivors.

Thanks for your help!
investigator

Comments

• Options
    Jessica RJessica R Posts: 1,319 Rose Gold 4
    Hi Steven,

So sorry for any confusion! The terms 'Survivors' and 'Survivors in growing classes', can definitely be misleading as you'd normally expect the number of survivors to grow or persist.