Options

Database snapshot was saved by newer version of SQL Compare

connectxconnectx Posts: 3
I downloaded the latest SQLToolkit installer (ver 1.8.2.238) this morning. I rebuilt my laptop over the weekend and don't have an earlier version of the RG tools installed.

I used SQL Compare (10.2.0.1337) to generate a snapshot of my SQL 2008 R2 database. I am using this snapshot along with the SQL Compare SDK to synchronize my databases. I have been using the same sync program for a couple of years now. The only thing that changes in it is the snapshot.

I used to have an earlier version of the RG tools from a couple of months ago installed and referenced by my sync project. I have removed and re-added the references to the RG assemblies.

Everything builds successfully. Everything appears to function normally when I run the sync program. By when I actually begin to execute the sdk code I get an error. The error message is: "The database snapshot was saved by a newer version of SQL Compare". The error occurs during a call to RedGate.SQLCompare.Engine.Database.LoadFromStream(). I have included the full exception message below.

Looking through the forums for SQL Compare, I see that some patches were released earlier this month and I'm wondering if this is the cause of the mismatch.

Here are the assembly versions from the \SQL Comparison SDK 10\Assemblies\SQL Compare install folder:

RedGate.Shared.SQL.dll, 9.5.0.440
RedGate.Shared.Utils.dll, 9.5.0.440
RedGate.SQLCompare.ASTParser.dll, 10.0.0.192
RedGate.SQLCompare.Engine.dll, 10.0.0.192
RedGate.SQLCompare.Rewriter.dll, 10.0.0.192

==================================================
Full exception detail:

System.ApplicationException was unhandled
HResult=-2146232832
Message=The database snapshot was saved by a newer version of SQL Compare
Source=RedGate.SQLCompare.Engine
StackTrace:
at RedGate.SQLCompare.Engine.Database.LoadFromStream(Stream #a0, Database #uwL)