Options

Using other column value through Python script

jean-ratorjean-rator Posts: 19
edited December 10, 2012 4:39PM in SQL Data Generator Previous Versions
Hello everybody,

I'm trying to set a column (bit) with the opposite of another one (bit, too) of the same table.
when one is true, the other has to be false and vice-versa.

The only choice - in my opinion - is to use a Python script.

I'm not an expert of this language, and I'm wondering if it si possible to use the value of other column in my code (as it could be done with Regexp generator : $[columnName]...)

Constraint : it is not possible to use an SQL Statement because an additional connection has to be defined in that case ; and I want to target any server/DB with only changing the connection at Project level.

Thanks in advance for any suggestion/advice.
Regards.

JL.
using SQL data Generator 2.0
----
dedicated CRM Software build with dotNet WPF / SQLServer 2008R2

Comments

• Options
    Brian DonahueBrian Donahue Posts: 6,590 Bronze 1
    Hello,

The Python generator won't give you access to generated data in other columns. There is an unsupported, third-party Ruby generator that you can use for this, discussed at http://www.simple-talk.com/dotnet/.net- ... generator/

I have a newer build that works with SQL Data Generator v2; if you email me, I can send it to you so you don't have to mess around with the v1 version Ben did so long ago that is not working with the current build.
  • Options
    Could you please post a link to the unsupported generator?

Thanks!
  • Options
    Fair enough! Here is an FTP link for the Ruby generator for SQL Data Generator 2.0.
    ftp://support.red-gate.com/patches/sql_ ... .0.1.6.zip
  • Options