Options

Performance Profiler is not working at all

I am completely new to Performance Profiler, and maybe I am doing something silly that is wrong.
Even so it looks so easy in the video.
I open up the application and the first page I get is the Settings page. I select ASP.NET web application IIS, and in the url I put in http://localhost:2558/.
I click on the button Start Profiling and my application is launched. However on performance counter data screen I see nothing.
I click on "Select All" just for something to do and I get the message "No results to display".
This is not how it looks in the video. What am I doing wrong?
Make the impossible possible, the possible easy, and the easy elegant. — Moshe Feldenkrais

Comments

• Options
    Is that the actual binding in IISadmin of your website? If not please use the same url as is configured in IISadmin.

If it is, can you check with task manager to see that your process is indeed launched?
  • Options
    I didn't do anything with IIS to set up my MVC 2 application on my local machine which runs on XP and IIS 5.1.
    So I decided to set it up, having to fix 403 errors long the way until I got
    "Server Application Unavailable
    The web application you are attempting to access on this web server is currently unavailable. Please hit the "Refresh" button in your web browser to retry your request.

Administrator Note: An error message detailing the cause of this specific request failure can be found in the application event log of the web server. Please review this log entry to discover what caused this error to occur.
    "
    The event viewer is NOT helpful.
    Now I feel like giving up.
    Make the impossible possible, the possible easy, and the easy elegant. — Moshe Feldenkrais
  • Options
    Brian DonahueBrian Donahue Posts: 6,590 Bronze 1