Options

The table must be rebuilt issue

denisgildenisgil Posts: 7 Bronze 1
edited November 24, 2011 2:32PM in SQL Compare Previous Versions
Hi,

I am changing a primary identity key type from INT to BIGINT. The generated script is rebuilding the table in this case. SQL server 2005 / 2008 works perfectly with an alter table (there no lost of data in this direction).

I am new with your tools. Is there an that there is an option to support this issue ? (Hope to not need to manages it manually !!!)

Also, as a licensed customer, should I use this forum ? Is there a direct support possible (we have support for 1 year). If so, where do we access it ?
Denis Gilbert
Conseiller-Adjoint en TI,
Développement de systèmes
Morneau Shepell Ltée

Comments

• Options
    Thanks for your post.

I've just tried making the same change as you mentioned (from Int to Bigint on the PK column of a table, with no other options) and SQL Compare scripts this as an ALTER.

Can you confirm which version you're on? Also, there are several other reasons why a table will get rebuilt rather than altered, which are detailed in this article - so you may want to check you haven't got the "Force Column Order" option selected, and none of the other possibilities are relevant.

Generally if you want to contact us to look at a specific issue, its best to email support@red-gate.com - the forums are more intended for users to post non urgent issues where other users can also contribute answers. We do get alerted to un-answered posts so we can respond, but this is obviously a slower way to get help!
    Systems Software Engineer

Redgate Software

• Options
    Hi,

I have the lattest release of Sql Compare 9.0.0.79 Professional Edition and no update are available. This is the only change I made to the table and the article detailed do not apply.

The only thing that may differ here, is that we are using user defined type.

So we have the following definition: