Upgrading, upgrading & moving

FlippinUidFlippinUid Posts: 4
edited February 1, 2011 9:12AM in SmartAssembly 5
I love this product and have used it for a couple of years.

Anyway, I'm a single developer and am finally moving my system from XP to 7. I am also upgrading from SmartAssembly 3.0.3063 to 5.5

There does not appear to be a guide as to what I have to move where. I would guess on XP, I have to move the "Maps" folder from the C:\Program Files\{smartassembly} folder, but that is all I really see.

Also, should I upgrade Smart Assembly on XP to 5.5 & then move everything to Windows 7?

Thanks
Ben

Comments

• Hi,
    I'm afraid that between SA 4 and 5 we made a clean break so we could make some protocol changes, so the web services are incompatible, so the old map files should just stay with your copy of sa3 for as long as you have a program in the wild processed by sa3. We are planning to turn off the older web service in about a year, so I'm glad to hear you're moving to v5.

The error reports themselves are compatible between the versions though, so those can be migrated if that's important to you. If you use a SQL server (if that was even possible with sa3) then just pointing at the same SQL server should work. If you use an mdb file, there's a procedure that works. Does anyone have a link to that description of how to do it?

I don't know whether sa3 worked very well on windows vista and later. If it did, all you need to do is install it, then copy the contents of your old program files folder over the new one the installer made, and SA will sort the rest out for you.
    Alex
    Developer,
    Red Gate .NET Tools
  • I found some advice:

The major caveat is that you should only import into an empty database, it is generally not possible to merge two sets of data from different installations of SmartAssembly.