Options

Installation problems

atalbotatalbot Posts: 8
edited November 9, 2010 12:57PM in SQL Monitor Previous Versions
I tried installing the SQL Monitor 2.0 product and have had a nightmare so far. The installation failed as the website would not start up. It kept saying the file was already in use. I stoped the Base Monitor and was able to start the website. I then got errors when trying to view the website until I installed the .Net 4.0 framework. Once I installed that and configured IIS to use it, I was finally able to get to the site and immediately noticed that it is missing all graphics, css, and javascript. I have tried to work through this and register a server but it apparently is not working. I am a Software Developer with a strong knowledge of IIS and appreciate the use of MVC but seriously, If it is failing from install, there are some serious problems.

Comments

• Options
    Chris SpencerChris Spencer Posts: 301
    edited November 9, 2010 12:59PM
    Apologies for the issues you're having. We've not seen any issues internally where the website fails due to a file being in use and you definitely shouldn't need .NET 4.0 in order to get it working. The installer checks for the presence of .NET 3.5 SP1 and that should be enough.

What browser are you using to view the website out of interest? If it's Internet Explorer then it could be an issue we've seen internally where the URL needs to be added as a trusted site.
    http://www.red-gate.com/supportcenter/C ... 269935.htm

If it's not that then would you be able to give us some more details of your IIS setup (especially the IIS version) and any screenshots of errors received could be valuable.

Also we write to log files that are by default (on Vista and later) located at C:\ProgramData\Red Gate\Logs\SQL Monitor 2. If you can zip up the contents of this directory and email to chris.spencer@red-gate.com, I could check these and see if anything unexpected is occurring.

Thanks
    Chris