What are the challenges you face when working across database platforms? Take the survey
Options

Restore error VDI error 1010

meklemblmeklembl Posts: 107 Bronze 2
edited May 10, 2010 10:23AM in SQL Backup Previous Versions
I run the following command and get the following message.

EXECUTE master..sqlbackup '-SQL "RESTORE DATABASE [ATS_Barclays] FROM DISK = ''E:\Backups\ATS_Barclays_db_20100507_004006.sqb'' WITH RECOVERY, DISCONNECT_EXISTING, REPLACE, ORPHAN_CHECK"'


SQL Backup v6.4.0.56
Restoring ATS_Barclays (database) from:
E:\Backups\ATS_Barclays_db_20100507_004006.sqb

VDI error 1010: Failed to get the configuration from the server because the timeout interval has elapsed. Check that the SQL Server instance is running, that you have the SQL Server System Administrator server role; and that no other processes are
blocking the backup or restore process; or try increasing the value of the VDITimeout registry setting in HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Red Gate\SQL Backup\BackupSettingsGlobal\[InstanceName]
Also check that the database is not currently in use.
SQL error 3013: RESTORE DATABASE is terminating abnormally.
SQL error 3201: Cannot open backup device 'SQLBACKUP_8BC10E28-13D7-4B22-AA07-459B8AB70B37'. Operating system error 0x80070002(The system cannot find the file specified.).

Memory profile
Type Maximum Minimum Average Blk count Total





Commit 172105728 4096 145444 37689 5481648128
Reserve 469696512 4096 35399 36698 1299107840
Free 6874127007744 4096 33935568342 259 8789312200704
Private 469696512 4096 89876 73857 6637998080
Mapped 25165824 4096 539501 63 33988608
Image 33259520 4096 232910 467 108769280


SQL Backup exit code: 1010
SQL error code: 3201

(22 row(s) affected)

name value

exitcode 1010
sqlerrorcode 3201
filename001 E:\Backups\ATS_Barclays_db_20100507_004006.sqb

(3 row(s) affected)

There is no other user on this database on this server.

For three other databases, so far, the above command for different databases and restore file names works fine.

The backup files are from the same version of SQL Backup and I am unsure if I should really do anything to increase "the value of the VDITimeout registry setting in HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Red Gate\SQL Backup\BackupSettingsGlobal\[InstanceName]"
Larry M
Cleveland, OH USA

Comments

  • Options
    peteypetey Posts: 2,358 New member
    Could you please post the entire contents of the SQL Backup log file for the related backup? Log files are stored in the C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\Red Gate\SQL Backup\Log\<instance name> folder. I would like to see the timestamps for each of the errors.

    Thank you.
    Peter Yeoh
    SQL Backup Consultant Developer
    Associate, Yohz Software
    Beyond compression - SQL Backup goodies under the hood, updated for version 8
  • Options
    meklemblmeklembl Posts: 107 Bronze 2
    SQL Backup log file 6.4.0.56

    -SQL "RESTORE DATABASE [ATS_Barclays] FROM DISK = '\\Themis\Backups\Hercules\ATS_Barclays_db_20100507_004006.sqb' WITH RECOVERY, DISCONNECT_EXISTING, REPLACE, ORPHAN_CHECK "

    ERRORS AND WARNINGS


    5/7/2010 3:03:28 PM: Restoring ATS_Barclays (database) from:
    5/7/2010 3:03:28 PM: \\Themis\Backups\Hercules\ATS_Barclays_db_20100507_004006.sqb

    5/7/2010 3:04:00 PM: ALTER DATABASE [ATS_Barclays] SET ONLINE RESTORE DATABASE [ATS_Barclays] FROM VIRTUAL_DEVICE = 'SQLBACKUP_A27A2A89-0658-4BCC-9CA2-693A968C50F5', VIRTUAL_DEVICE = 'SQLBACKUP_A27A2A89-0658-4BCC-9CA2-693A968C50F501', VIRTUAL_DEVICE = 'SQLBACKUP_A27A2A89-0658-4BCC-9CA2-693A968C50F502', VIRTUAL_DEVICE = 'SQLBACKUP_A27A2A89-0658-4BCC-9CA2-693A968C50F503' WITH BUFFERCOUNT = 24, BLOCKSIZE = 65536, MAXTRANSFERSIZE = 1048576 , RECOVERY, REPLACE

    5/7/2010 3:04:30 PM: VDI error 1010: Failed to get the configuration from the server because the timeout interval has elapsed. Check that the SQL Server instance is running, that you have the SQL Server System Administrator server role; and that no other processes are blocking the backup or restore process; or try increasing the value of the VDITimeout registry setting in HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Red Gate\SQL Backup\BackupSettingsGlobal\[InstanceName]
    5/7/2010 3:04:30 PM: Also check that the database is not currently in use.
    5/7/2010 3:04:57 PM: SQL error 3013: RESTORE DATABASE is terminating abnormally.
    5/7/2010 3:04:57 PM: SQL error 3201: Cannot open backup device 'SQLBACKUP_A27A2A89-0658-4BCC-9CA2-693A968C50F5'. Operating system error 0x80070002(The system cannot find the file specified.).
    5/7/2010 3:04:57 PM:
    5/7/2010 3:04:57 PM: Memory profile
    5/7/2010 3:04:57 PM: Type Maximum Minimum Average Blk count Total
    5/7/2010 3:04:57 PM:





    5/7/2010 3:04:57 PM: Commit 172105728 4096 145407 37684 5479530496
    5/7/2010 3:04:57 PM: Reserve 469696512 4096 35401 36697 1299120128
    5/7/2010 3:04:57 PM: Free 6874127007744 4096 33675533739 261 8789314306048
    5/7/2010 3:04:57 PM: Private 469696512 4096 89855 73851 6635892736
    5/7/2010 3:04:57 PM: Mapped 25165824 4096 539501 63 33988608
    5/7/2010 3:04:57 PM: Image 33259520 4096 232910 467 108769280
    5/7/2010 3:04:57 PM:
    Larry M
    Cleveland, OH USA
  • Options
    peteypetey Posts: 2,358 New member
    Thanks for posting the log file.

    From the log:

    5/7/2010 3:03:28 PM: SQL Backup started.

    Between 3:03:28 and 3:04:00, SQL Backup took the database offline because of the DISCONNECT_EXISTING option. The interval would probably have been caused by the need to rollback any transactions if the database was in normal operational mode.

    5/7/2010 3:04:00 PM: SQL Backup attempted to restore the database.

    5/7/2010 3:04:30 PM: SQL Backup encountered VDI error 1010 because SQL Server did not respond within 30 seconds. SQL Backup aborts the restore process.

    5/7/2010 3:04:57 PM: SQL Server is now ready to start the restore, but it cannot find the SQL Backup restore device, hence it raises an error .

    My guess is that SQL Server takes longer than 30 seconds to bring that database back online. Could you please test if this is indeed the case? Before you attempt to restore that database again under normal operating conditions at the same time, could you please run the following from Query Analyzer/SSMS:

    ALTER DATABASE [ATS_Barclays] SET OFFLINE WITH ROLLBACK IMMEDIATE

    and thereafter:

    ALTER DATABASE [ATS_Barclays] SET ONLINE

    How long does each command take to run?

    Thank you.
    Peter Yeoh
    SQL Backup Consultant Developer
    Associate, Yohz Software
    Beyond compression - SQL Backup goodies under the hood, updated for version 8
  • Options
    meklemblmeklembl Posts: 107 Bronze 2
    Select getdate()
    go
    ALTER DATABASE [ATS_Barclays] SET OFFLINE WITH ROLLBACK IMMEDIATE
    GO
    Select getdate()
    go
    ALTER DATABASE [ATS_Barclays] SET ONLINE
    GO
    Select getdate()
    go

    Results times

    2010-05-10 09:39:00.650

    (1 row(s) affected)


    2010-05-10 09:39:01.140

    (1 row(s) affected)


    2010-05-10 09:39:01.437

    (1 row(s) affected)
    Larry M
    Cleveland, OH USA
  • Options
    peteypetey Posts: 2,358 New member
    If those timings are representative of the time it takes to bring the database back online when the restore failed previously, then something else is preventing SQL Server from servicing the restore request within 30 seconds of SQL Backup issuing the request.

    Possibilities include:
    - the database was being backed up at that time
    - a blocking process, e.g. an index rebuild, was running on the database at that time
    - the server was just plain busy and the SQL Server process could not service the request
    Peter Yeoh
    SQL Backup Consultant Developer
    Associate, Yohz Software
    Beyond compression - SQL Backup goodies under the hood, updated for version 8
  • Options
    meklemblmeklembl Posts: 107 Bronze 2
    Peter,

    It appears that our network got very busy on Friday and this caused a twofold problem. I store my backups on a file server (not shared by a lot of users) and was restoring another database from that server. I've been able to do this before, but I think it was the proverbial straw that broke the camel's back.

    The server was restoring one of the larger databases and could not handle the load of another restore. Rather than saying, "Hey buddy. I'm too busy to handle another request from you." It gave me the cryptic VDI error. I was worried that my backups were corrupt or something as heinous.

    Thanks for your help,
    Larry
    Larry M
    Cleveland, OH USA
Sign In or Register to comment.