SQL View not showing as changed

TroyHuskerTroyHusker Posts: 5
edited June 12, 2006 2:20PM in SQL Compare Previous Versions
I'm using SQL 2000 and I added a field to a table. But I also had to recompile a view that includes all of the fields of that table using the "*" to get all fields because it wasn't picking up the new field.

When I ran SQL Compare, it didn't see the view as having been changed and therefore didn't update the other database that was the recipient of the original changes. Is there some sort of setting I need to select so that it can pick up those view changes?

Hopefully I'm making a little bit of sense. I'm not sure how else to explain it as I'm not very technical in my speach. :)

Thanks so much for a great product!

Comments

• Brian DonahueBrian Donahue Posts: 6,590 Bronze 1
    Hello Troy,

The view doesn't need to be changed, really, because it's still a SELECT * FROM... in both databases. But it does need to be recompiled so that internally, SQL Server knows specifically which columns are part of the *. This is done using sp_refreshview. SQL Compare is designed in version 5 to script an sp_refreshview as part of the synchronization, which is important if you have a view or stored procedure that depends on another view that is a SELECT *.

Please let me know if the issue is that sp_refreshview isn't being scripted where it needs to be.
  • OK, I'll have to look at the script and see if sp_refreshview did not get scripted out. I may make a dummy change to the table so that it sees that change. I'll let you know once I get the chance to do that.

Thanks!