Warning "No default value" despite using migration script

mfearbymfearby Posts: 24
This is my first attempt at a migration script, and my scenario is exactly the one documented here: http://documentation.red-gate.com/display/SOC3/Worked+example+-+deploying+with+migration+scripts, that is, adding a column that doesn't allow nulls.

So I followed the guide faithfully and now that I'm checking in my changes, SQL Source Control 3.6.3.149 is still warning me as follows:

Severity: High
Object: tbMyTable
Title: The column [field_type] on table [dbo].[tbMyTable] must be added but has no default and does not allow NULL values. The table must be rebuilt. If the table contains data then the deployment script will fail.

Does this warning always show up, regardless of whether a migration script is present, or have I perhaps done something wrong? The guide makes no mention of this warning still being displayed.
I don't always test my code, but when I do, I do it in production :-p

Comments

• I decided to acknowledge the warning and proceed with the commit anyway (I'm linked to VisualSVN Server). This seemed to be successful, so I fired up SQL Compare and it's complaining as follows:

1 of 1 warning: Error retrieving migration scripts

The migration script was saved successfully to the repo because I did an SVN Update with TortoiseSVN on my computer and it brought down the new folder created especially for these scripts.

Now I am well and truly at a loss. I'll probably run my script customisations manually and just remove the allow nulls on the field afterwards, I guess. I'd still like to know why things are failing miserably. I don't think I'm asking too much of it :-) THanks.
  • If I click on the Migration Scripts tab it shows my one and only migration script and when I click edit, up it comes, and all my customisations are there. I've also closed/reopened SQL Compare several times.