Options

Running a schdule backup automatically

rafiqahmedsrafiqahmeds Posts: 3
edited July 26, 2014 4:40PM in SQL Backup Previous Versions
Hello there,

As i am new to sql server administration, i would like to hear out from you people regarding the possible solution to my query.

will explain in details below.

1)I would like to run a schedule backup every week on a particular day on a particular time.

after the backup happens i want to shrink the log file and again after the log file shrinks

I would like to re-run whole backup once again, all this process should happen on a weekly basis without any human interference. Kindly let me know if this is possible to do on a production server. is there any query to run this?thank you in advance.

Cheers

Comments

• Options
    I believe that your requirements can be fulfilled using a combination of SQL backup and editing the SQL Server agent job.

The only thing I am not totally confident in is perfect sychronization of the second backup procedure exactly after the log shrink command. I will do some more research on this.

So, firstly, create a regular, scheduled backup job in the Red gate SQL backup wizard (I'm going to assume you're familiar with this step).

If you have a non-EXPRESS version of SQL Server this will have created a SQL server agent job which you can inspect in SSMS.

Open up the job and look at step 1. You should see the backup job here. Copy the T-SQL and we'll use this in the last step.

The next thins is- Insert a new step that will shrink the log:

DBCC SHRINKFILE (Transact-SQL)

Then create the last step by inserting and copying in the same T-SQL that is in the first step.
  • Options
    Hi Chris,

Thank you for the update, in mean time i would like to know weather did you got time to check on my query?

Cheers!!! :o
  • Options