Click on server name, green circle spins forever

paule123paule123 Posts: 44
edited November 7, 2013 4:25AM in SQL Backup Previous Versions
Just upgraded from 6.5 to 7.1.0.214. Had this problem in 6.5 too. Click on the server name, and the little green circle spins forever. Nothing appears in the Activity History, even though I know jobs are running at their scheduled time. I used to be able to clear this problem by closing the application and restarting, but now it seems to be persisting even after closing/opening the app.

Update: Went to dinner, came back after a couple hours and the Activity history is populated, however when I scroll down to look at earlier activity the bars are blank until I click on them, then eventually the info fills in. Note that I have activity history for multiple databases going back to 2009, so there are thousands of completed jobs in the history. The GUI needs some work in this situation.

Comments

• Hi Paule123;

I'm a developer on the SQL Backup UI; thanks for leaving feedback.

We're aware that a number of users of the UI have seen performance issues in areas particularly relating to activity history; we've done some investigation work, but unfortunately, these issues are proving hard to replicate in an artificial test environment, and my suspicion is that many of them are down to a combination of the UI's update mechanism, quantity of data and the environment in which both the UI and server is running. The work is ongoing, however, and it would really help if you could answer a couple of questions - feel free to send me a private message or email me at chris.whitworth@red-gate.com if you'd rather not answer these publicly.

1) Could you describe your setup? (SQL Server version, CPU, memory, disc space, number of DBs, backup frequency, etc). In particular, how my entries in the activity history (approximately) would you say there are, and how many new entries per day are added?