Dead in the water: SQL Log Rescue Freeze

binggelibinggeli Posts: 3
edited January 27, 2006 5:59AM in SQL Log Rescue
For the second day in a row, I have single-handedly brought the database server down, using SQL Log Rescue.

I am pretty sure that I must have done something wrong, but I cannot figure out for the life of me what's going on.

Yes, I am new to SQL Log Rescue, but I have used other, similar tools in the past and never had any issues with crashing database servers.

DAY 1:
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Tried to run SQL Log Rescue remotely (from my office computer to the database server in the remote data center). Since I didn't want the extended SP on my local instance of SQL Server (never use any databases on my machine), I let SQL Log Rescue install the extended SP on the remote server.

Then SQL Log Rescue came up with a screen full of potential backups, but they all had the "red x" icon and said they were unavailable. Unchecked the "Use the following backups" (or similar) check box and clicked Next.

Then I got the "Analyzing Transaction Log" (or something like that) window with a progress bar, and SQL Log Rescue just sat there. And sat there. And nothing happened for minutes. No progress in the progress bar either.

So I shut down SQL Log Rescue (clicked Cancel) and within seconds, our production database went down.

I had to call the data center and somebody had to walk over to our server and cold-reboot it because it was frozen and didn't accept any commands from anyone anymore.

DAY 2:
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Because red-gate has this awesome advertising slogan, "Recover SQL Server data without any downtime" I thought I'd give it another try.

This time, however, I installed SQL Log Rescue directly on the database server, let it do its thing with the extended SP (which I thought was odd since that got installed yesterday already . . . ?) and wanted to find out when some specific data were entered into a client account.