Generating crud scripts from table def?

ChrisDuncanMnxChrisDuncanMnx Posts: 7
edited January 30, 2012 4:03AM in SQL Prompt Previous Versions
Hey, guys.

I'm new to the Redgate tools and quite enjoying the experience. I just wrote a batch of standard crud procs for a handful of tables and found the auto population of the insert statement to be time saving.

I was wondering if anyone has wired up the tool and / or snippets in such a way that I could point at a table and have it auto generate the create / update / delete procs from the table def.

Forgive the clueless question if this isn't how Sql Prompt works. That said, I figure if this sort of thing is possible I'm surely not the first person to think of it.

Thanks!
Christopher Duncan
Midnite Express

Comments

• Eddie DEddie D Posts: 1,780 Rose Gold 5
    Thank you for your post into the forum.

Excellent news that you are enjoying using SQL Prompt.

You can create and add your snippets to use. Please vist this Web Page In the Learning SQL Prompt section, expand the topic "Speeding up your Queries" and take a look at the "Inserting snippets" and "Managing Snippets". This will help you create your own snippets to achieve your goal of automatically create / update and delete your Stored procedures.

Many Thanks
    Eddie
    Eddie Davis
    Senior Product Support Engineer
    Redgate Software Ltd
    Email: support@red-gate.com
  • Hi, Eddie.

Thanks for the reply. I've looked at both of the pages you recommended but there's not much detail on either one.

In order for the snippet system to be able to automatically generate the create, update and delete procs based on a given table, there needs to be a way for it to take a reference to the table name, get the list of its column names and data types, and then use that in the generated code to populate the procs.

Are there other sources of information that I should be referencing to understand how I accomplish this?

Thanks,
    Christopher Duncan