Options

UI ideas for SQL Monitor

paul.pricepaul.price Posts: 18 Bronze 2
edited March 11, 2011 9:37AM in SQL Monitor Previous Versions
In general I have always been very impressed with all of the RedGate tools. However, I'm just getting started with SQL Monitor and would like to suggest some improvements for the UI.

Alerts - add a "NEXT" button to go to the details of the next message (without having to go back to the index).
Alerts - "CLEAR & NEXT" to clear the current alert and go to the next one.

My general experience is that the UI performance/responsiveness is rather slow. The software is installed locally and it's still slow.

Alerts - multi-select with mouse drag from index for clearing

Alert check boxes - is a round trip really necessary to check a box? Probably not.

In order to be useful to me, I should be able to check all of my databases in about 2-3 minutes per day. If it takes 30 minutes or more, I will either not check them or I'll look for another tool.

I'd be happy to discuss any of these in greater detail.

Comments

• Options
    Hi Paul
    paul.price wrote:
    Alerts - add a "NEXT" button to go to the details of the next message (without having to go back to the index).
    Alerts - "CLEAR & NEXT" to clear the current alert and go to the next one.
    This is a popular request and we have an outstanding enhancement request to get this done (ref SRP-1953). I've added your comments to this.
    paul.price wrote:
    Alerts - multi-select with mouse drag from index for clearing
    We already support Ctrl-Click and Shift-Click for multi-select of alerts. Do you feel that using mouse drag is a big improvement over both of these?
    paul.price wrote:
    Alert check boxes - is a round trip really necessary to check a box? Probably not.