Alias "generator"

ktaylor1968ktaylor1968 Posts: 10
edited August 6, 2010 12:17PM in SQL Prompt Previous Versions
I just purchased SQL Prompt and would love to set up some aliases for our database tables. We have a 3rd party app that really used some pretty intuitive table and column naming structures.

Our Customer table is named co_customer and all of it's column names begin with cst_. cst_key, cst_id, cst_recno.

Our Invoice table is name ac_invoice and all of it's column names begin with inv_. inv_key, inv_code, inv_trx_date and even an inv_cst_key.

I would love to import a list of 1200 table names and aliases without pressing the "add" button and typing in each one. I can easily query these table name's and prefixes from our database.

Any ideas? I literally downloaded the program today, so I'm very new to it. Looks absolutely great so far. I'm just hoping there's some sort of import for the Aliases.

Thanks all!

Comments

• Anu DAnu D Posts: 876 Silver 3
    Many thanks for your post Keith.

I really don't know how you like to achieve this but I will like to share another way of inserting Aliases other than UI which I think can help you or give you an idea how Aliases in SQL Prompt works.

As soon as you define an alias in UI the XML file RedGate_SqlPrompt_Engine_EngineOptions.xml under the node <UserDefinedAliases>.
    You can find the file here: %USERPROFILE%\AppData\Local\Red Gate\SQL Prompt 4\RedGate_SqlPrompt_Engine_EngineOptions.xml.

This is the only way to add Aliases if you do not want to do it through UI.

Kindly let me know if you need more information on this.
    Anuradha Deshpande
    Product Support
    Redgate Software Ltd.
    E-mail: support@red-gate.com
  • ktaylor1968ktaylor1968 Posts: 10
    edited August 6, 2010 9:42AM