Options

My software has been cracked

smondrupsmondrup Posts: 4
edited August 2, 2010 7:29AM in SmartAssembly 5
I've been protecting my software with SmartAssembly for just a couple of months, but it has already been cracked. I'm not using the strongest protection, so I'm wondering if it's worth the trouble trying to get my software working with the strongest protection.

I release my software quite often, so I really just need a protection mechanism that's not too easy to break, but if the hackers have ready made tools that can break any program protected with SmartAssembly, then I don't want to go through the hassle of increasing the protection level.

Anyone with experience here? Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Comments

• Options
    No matter what you do, if your software is popular, it will be cracked if the cracker has the determination. In this day in age, you can slow the process and make it harder, but you can't stop it.

SA is a good tool, but the more popular a protection tool is, the more attention it will receive.

You should implement more complex security checks in your programs. Don't rely on a protection tool to do everything for you, implement another blanket of defense.
  • Options
    Thank you for your feedback. The software already implements many complex security checks including online checks, but if a hacker can read the source code with little effort, then it's not much help.

I know the software will get cracked sooner or later no matter what, but I was just wondering if I would be wasting my time trying to increase the protection level in SA.
  • Options
    Brian DonahueBrian Donahue Posts: 6,590 Bronze 1