Options

Do I have the right tool.

FredMorinFredMorin Posts: 9
Here is what my situation is...

I have an master application that uses sql server as it's back-end.

I was successfully able today to generate a upgrade script with the samples of Comparaison SDK no sweat.

I then want to put that file on a ftp server somewhere. Again no sweat.

Now on the client side, there will be an app I wrote which will use the database as well, but locally this time... Therefore, whenever they logon I will check to see if there is a update file on the ftp, no problems....if there is I want to download it and then silently execute it...

So my question is this... is there an easy was to get the EXE generated by the SDK to silently run....

thanks

Comments

• Options
    Hi there,

Many thanks for your post.

Depending on how you are getting the .EXE to run, you can do this through the command line by specifying the following:
    Applicationname.exe /quiet /server:XXX /database:XXX /username:XXX /password:XXX

Does this answer your question?

Pete
    Peter Peart
    Red Gate Software Ltd
    +44 (0)870 160 0037 ext. 8569
    1 866 RED GATE ext. 8569
  • Options
    Is there another switch needed to specify if i want to create a database or upgrade an existing one...
  • Options
    Hi there,

The /quiet switch just forces the .EXE to be run from the command line without a GUI popping up at all.

I would have thought that if you were creating a new DB or creating an upgrade, that would have all been built into the .EXE, therefore there isn't a need for any additional switches.

Pete
    Peter Peart
    Red Gate Software Ltd
    1 866 RED GATE ext. 8569
  • Options
    Thanks for the quick reply...

I am very green as far as the SQL packagerCode Snippets goes.

I know after running the sample I was able to create the EXE but when I would manually run it, I was given the option to Create a New DB or Upgrade.

Is there something I missed in those samples
  • Options
    Hi there,