Suggestion: An object picker

robwrobw Posts: 8 New member
edited September 1, 2009 5:29PM in SQL Prompt Previous Versions
I'm new to the Red-Gate tools and forum, so I apologize if this post is redundant or in an inappropriate place.

I use the Eclipse IDE quite a bit, and it has a very handy feature: CTRL-SHIFT-T brings up a prompt where you type a few characters of an object name. Objects matching that pattern appear in a select window. You pick the object, and it is loaded into the editor.

I have a client with many, many stored procedures. Scrolling through the very long list in the object browser in SSMS is tedious. I think that adding an Eclipse-style object picker to the application would be a great benefit to users. Visual Studio itself could also benefit from this, as well.

Comments

• Hi Rob,

Many thanks for your post.

Unless I am missing something here in what you are looking for, that is one of the things that SQL Prompt does.

Whilst typing out T-SQL, SQL Prompt will automatically provide you with suggested candidates based on what you type. For example, using Adventureworks if you type "EXEC dbo.us" you will automatically be provided with a list of the stored procedures in the database that will narrow down the more characters you type, or you select a candidate from the list.

If you do not wish for SQL Prompt to be on all the time, you can manually trigger suggestions by hitting CTRL + Space.

Is this the sort of thing you are looking for Rob?
    Peter Peart
    Red Gate Software Ltd
    +44 (0)870 160 0037 ext. 8569
    1 866 RED GATE ext. 8569
  • robwrobw Posts: 8 New member
    Peter,
    Thanks for your reply. You are correct in the context of editing SQL. SQL Prompt does this for you when you want to exec another stored procedure, or reference a table, or use a reserved word.