SQL Prompt "Forgetting" Some Members of Candidate List

jader201jader201 Posts: 19
I've been using SQL Prompt for several months, and one issue I (and my colleagues) keep having is that it will lose certain members from the candidate list, forcing us to manually use "Refresh Cache" in order to restore them.

I can't figure out any rhyme or reason as to why or when it does this, except that it seems to be tables we frequently work with/query. But basically, the table will just suddenly stop showing up in the list, or the table will show up but the columns will not.

In some cases, this can be due to something screwy w/ the query that just causes issues w/ SQL Prompt, which is expected. But I'm referring to when there is no issue w/ the query, and it is able to access some tables but not others. And refreshing the cache (without changing the query) *always* fixes it.

And as I said, it's not just me, but all of my coworkers have reported having this issue. And obviously, those of us the use the tool more often report more issues than the others.

Any ideas what the cause is, and if there is a fix (other than constantly refreshing the cache)?

System Info:
SQL Prompt version 3.9.0.43
SQL Server 2005, SP2 (build 3790)
Windows XP SP3

Thanks in advance.

Comments

• Brian DonahueBrian Donahue Posts: 6,590 Bronze 1
    Hi Jerad,

I'm sorry, but I don't know what the problem could be. SQL Prompt keeps a copy of the database schema cached on disk, so it seems unlikely that tables would just drop out until the cache is refreshed.

I'll ask someone else to see if they know of anything that would cause this.
  • Any updates on this? We're still having the issue.

If there's anyway I can help troubleshoot, let me know. For example, if it would help to send you a cache file before (when the members are missing) and after (when I do a refresh and restore them), let me know.

Thanks.
  • I have the same problem
  • I am having samilar problem.