Help with Custom SQL Packager

jules140jules140 Posts: 9
edited June 30, 2008 10:12AM in SQL Packager Previous Versions
Hi,

I'm fairly new to SQL Packager and my client's requirements are as follows:

1/ We will initially ship our application with a new copy of the main database that is constantly changing.
I’m writing a custom DLL that will copy the Main database and only one table.
I need to know how to copy the database structure with only one table via the api.

2/ Later stages require us to only ship the one table (for users who already have the application).
Please supply instructions of how to overwrite the existing table with the new version via the api.

We do not have the credentials of the SQL server user - can this be over-ridden using the Microsoft MSI Installer (as believed)?

Regards,

Jules

Comments

• Brian DonahueBrian Donahue Posts: 6,590 Bronze 1
    Hi,

Thanks for your post. It is possible to wrap the SQL Toolkit API calls up into a Class Library project that inherits System.Configuration.Install.Installer. This would allow you to tightly integrate Toolkit with an MSI, in a way that allows you to display dialogs to the user that will let them specify server, database, and user names in the installer and pass the information to your installer class DLL.

This would work well for comparing an existing database or comparing a database on the customer's machine to a SQL Compare snapshot and synchronizing it, but it's not so practical for deploying Packager data.

The reason for this is because SQL Packager outputs an executable or project to create an executable only. This executable will also assume that the table does not already exist -- it will not use the typical 'if exist drop...' that SQL Server management tools use, so a SQL command would need to be run outside of the package anyway to drop the table.