What do you use SQL Toolkit for?

richardjmrichardjm Posts: 598
After an interesting post about using SQL Toolkit to check the scripts for upgrading a database I thought I'd create a sticky.

Please respond with what you're using SQL Toolkit for, how we can make it better and possibly even coding tips for other users.

Have fun people.
Richard Mitchell
Project Manager
Red Gate Software Ltd

Comments

• Just can't understand how you have had no responses in nearly two years. No doubt there are a number of uses and wanted features that are hidden amongst the various posts.
    I'm just starting out exploring the possibilities. But to name one use - its looking handy to allow me to generate exports of static data to csv/xml files for version control ( similar to the SQLDataCompare Export but without the duplicate columns). Obviously i have to provide my own file persistence, but you might think about this.
    On a slight diversion ... when using SQLDataCompare against a SQL Server (2000) database backup in the UI, the button for the "Where clause" in the table selection configuration is disabled. But it is available when comparing a live database. Can you explain this?
  • Sadly unless we were to implement SQL Server in it's entirity we can't support WHERE clauses when comparing to a backup. This is because we read directly from the binary backup format and re-create the data of the tables without even needing SQL Server.
    Richard Mitchell
    Project Manager
    Red Gate Software Ltd
  • But can't the condition still be applied to the LHS ( live side) ?
    i don't want to pollute this thread with too many asides though.
    Jimboh
  • We try to keep it symmetric but yes it could be - but isn't :)
    Richard Mitchell
    Project Manager
    Red Gate Software Ltd
  • I'll primarily use it to update customer databases, and insert lookup data.