Copying useable databases to a Bacup SQL server

bobgalwaybobgalway Posts: 6
edited August 31, 2007 9:43AM in SQL Backup Previous Versions
I am an Access developer teaching myself SQL Server 2005 (but very new to SQL Server). I am trying to do something that sounds simple but has not been easy for me: backup the databases on a production SQL server 2005 to a backup server (so I can switch to it if the production goes down). Can I do this w/ SQL Backup 5? How? Many thanks.

Comments

• If you are using the SQL Backup 5 GUI, you need to perform the following steps:

1) Use the "Backup Wizard" to create the backup
    2) In the progress dialog, you'll be told where the file was created (if the backup was successful), make a note of this location
    3) Copy the file in question across to the new server
    4) Use the "Restore Wizard" on the second server to restore the backup... you will need to use the "Browse for backup files to restore" option.

Alternatively, if you want to keep the "backup" (or "standby") server up-to-date with any changes, you can use "Log Shipping", which is described in the SQL Backup 5 help file here:

* http://help.red-gate.com/help/SQLBackup ... gShip.html

[Additional Reading Material]
    If you want any more information on how SQL Server deals with backups and restores, a good reference is provided here:

* http://msdn2.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ms187048.aspx

The SQL Backup Help can also give you a lot of useful information on performing backups and restores, and is available online here:

* http://help.red-gate.com/help/SQLBackup ... Backup.htm

Hope that helps,
    Jason