Options

SQLPrompt 10 in Horizon VDI environment....need to re-register license constantly

htcolburnhtcolburn Posts: 2 New member
**DISCLAIMER**  I'm not a SQLPrompt user, nor am I a code developer.  I'm a sysadmin responsible for maintaining the VMware Horizon environment at our company, so if I ask stupid questions regarding SQL Prompt, that's why.

Here's my problem.....

We have a large user-base of developers that use SQLPrompt version 10 in their development activities.  They run it with SSMS 18.6 in a VMware Horizon "Instant Clone" environment that utilizes a technology called App Volumes.  Basically what this means in this example is when a user logs in, they have what's called a "writable volume" that contains their login profile information and any/all applications or data they install.  This is where they install SQLPrompt, and when they logout, that volume is detached preserving all the data written to it for use in their next login session.

We also utilize a mechanism called Dynamic Environment Manager (DEM) that imports and exports other user-critical data for applications and their user experience.  For example, we capture registry settings that control their desktop background, application registry settings and files specific to that user, etc.  These files/settings/keys are captured when the user logs out, and then re-imported when they log back in.

Now that I've explained these parts, here's where the SQLPrompt question comes in.  When the users install SQLPrompt, they go through the license registration process just fine, and they can utilize all the functions/features just fine.  However, when they log out, there are times when they need to re-register the application in order to use it.  This is not across-the board though, which makes it difficult to troubleshoot.

Using DEM, I'm capturing the following items:

HKCU\Software\Red Gate
HKLM\SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\Red Gate
c:\users\<username>\AppData\Roaming\Red Gate