in Microsoft Azure - how to we install "SQL Backup Pro's server components"

justindohjustindoh Posts: 9 New member
I am new to Microsoft Azure, and our company is trying to convert SQB file to SQL Server format.
I found this Stackoverflow article about a solution by installing "SQL Backup Pro's server components".
https://stackoverflow.com/questions/861334/how-to-restore-database-using-sqb-files-in-sql-server

How do I go about installing "SQL Backup Pro's server components" in Azure.
Can regular Azure SQL would work or does it have to be either VM or Managed Instance?

Thanks.
Justin

Best Answers

• Eddie DEddie D Posts: 1,780 Rose Gold 5
    Hi Justindoh,
    Thank you for your forum post.

My answer to you depends upon the Azure SQL you are planning or are already using.

SQL Backup works with Azure Infrastructure As A Service (IAAS or IaaS).  Microsoft Azure offers a  complete virtual machines.  The client or user, has control over Windows meaning that they can create Windows services and SQL Instances, which means they have access to system databases in particular the master database.  Also install other software applications

The SQL Backup server components installer, will create a total of 9 Extended Stored Procedures in the master database, create the SQL Backup Agent Windows service and install SQL Server Compact Edition.  

So using Azure IaaS, you can install the SQL Backup server components successfully.

Now the bad news.

Azure Platform As A Service(PAAS or PaaS) Microsoft simply offer a database.  The Infrastructure of the SQL Server and Windows is hidden from the client.  This means that the client cannot install the SQL Backup Server Components to the master database of the SQL Instance and therefore Azure PaaS is not supported.

If I have understood this documentation correctly regarding SQL Azure Managed Instances:

https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/azure/azure-sql/managed-instance/sql-managed-instance-paas-overview