Conditional Foreign Keys

Short: Does anyone know of how I would fill in a foreign key value only if the value of a different column is a certain value?

Long: I have an Equipment table. It has an Operator column that is a key reference to the Employee table. This column needs to be null if the Ownership type is set to Subcontracted. Pretty sure that this needs to be done with a Python script but I'm very new to this tool and am not sure of the best way to handle it.
Tagged:

Best Answer

• way0utwestway0utwest Posts: 313 Rose Gold 1
    I don't see an easy way to do this. I know we could write a Python script that would read the table and optionally return a NULL, but that's an overly complex approach.

What I'd do is:
    1. call SQL Data Generator from the command line, use a normal FK generator
    2. call a SQL script that looks at Equipment.Ownership and sets Equipment.Operator to null

Really this is likely a quicker approach. I wish SDG included some pre/post processing, but that's not likely to come soon. Instead, I'd set this as a known process for provisioning data sets. Call SDG, then call

update equipment
    set operator = null
    where ownershiptype = 'Subcontracted'

Answers

• If I understand this, you want to populate the Equipment.Operator column with data. This data is a reference to another table, correct? Some Operators table?

Then, you want a NULL in this column if Operator.OwnershipType = Subcontracted, otherwise some valid FK. Is that correct?
  • rlasker3rlasker3 Posts: 3 New member
    way0utwest wrote: »
    If I understand this, you want to populate the Equipment.Operator column with data. This data is a reference to another table, correct? Some Operators table?

Then, you want a NULL in this column if Operator.OwnershipType = Subcontracted, otherwise some valid FK. Is that correct?