SCA vs Flyway vs Redgate Deploy

Hi,

I'm a bit confused about all these options. I've been using SCA for the last 8 months and lately I'm seeing many articles about flyway for database migration. I also see that there is Redgate deploy. How do they compare? Are they complementary solutions or they replace each other?

Regards,

Confused User

Best Answer

• Kendra_LittleKendra_Little Posts: 139 Gold 3
    edited February 17, 2021 9:39AM Answer ✓
    Hi @EricLamontagne ,

Thanks for this question. This is something that I have been meaning to blog about a bit to help our existing  users understand how these things relate to one another. 

Essentially, what we find is that new customers who are getting used to our tooling get overwhelmed if we start throwing a lot of product names at them. Instead, they just want to initially know: what are the capabilities that you offer? 

But for customers who are already with us and who are already familiar with some products, this can be a bit confusing as you already know the product names and want to know how they work together.

The shorter version of the answer is:
    • Redgate Deploy is a subscription offering. It contains SQL Change Automation and Flyway (along with other tools).  
    • SQL Change Automation's strength is that is offers many more features for SQL Server users than Flyway does: SQL Change Automation helps you author scripts, automatically numbers them, helps identify merge conflicts, and performs full CI/CD support including testing, code analysis, etc. 
    • Flyway, on the other hand, is a tool that helps you automate deployments (a subset of that functionality) -- Flyway's strength is that it works with many databases.
    Here's a more detailed version of how these all relate:

What is Redgate Deploy?

Redgate Deploy is a subscription-based solution for versioning and Continuous Integration / Continuous Delivery for databases.