Options

How to use an external file that lists URLs - Singleton

lance27lance27 Posts: 9
edited March 16, 2007 8:46AM in ANTS Load
Hi,
In my quest to make my ANTS load testing a bit better, I'm trying to use a list of URLs from a currently-live webserver. Here's what I've done:

-Looked at our clients web stats and found a busy day
-parsed the resultant web logs from IIS and extracted all resources, one line each
-put this list of resources into an external file of >1,000,000 lines
-tried to implement a Singleton class to read the file and sequentially feed the resource URLs one-by-one to ANTS virtual clients. The singleton is supposed to be instantiated ONCE and reused by each of the threads - so that I only have to read the big URL file once, and then it's in memory for subsequent reads.

Here's the problem:
I can't get the Singleton to work as expected. I'm not very experienced with VB (but I'm a whiz with C#), but in looking at tutorials and examples, I'm pretty sure I'm *close* to doing what I want. The problem is that I seem to be getting thousands of Instances of the Singleton created, instead of just one. Because I am getting multiple instances, I am having the URL source file read thousands of times (concurrently!), and am getting the following error messages:

Exception message: The process cannot access the file "C:\tmp\test.txt" because it is being used by another process. - 3782 times
Exception message: Object reference not set to an instance of an object. - 182 times

(and these messages are only from a 15 second run!)

So, does anyone have any idea where I can go from here?

Code for my quasi-singleton:
===================

Imports System
Imports System.Collections
Imports System.IO
Imports System.Runtime.CompilerServices
Imports System.Threading

Public Class FileReader
Dim logfile As String = "C:\tmp\antslog.txt"
Dim sourceFile As String = "C:\tmp\test.txt"
Private _alURLs As ArrayList ''holds a list of URLs