Querying the RedGateMonitor database for CPU utlization

pdxdbapdxdba Posts: 5
edited November 17, 2016 3:58PM in SQL Monitor 6
I am relatively new to Monitor having used it for only a couple months. I have an IT executive who is looking for historical data, mainly the number of logins to our site versus our SQL Server CPU utilization (8 CPUs), bucketed by different timeframes. (per minute, 15 minutes ...)

So, of course I have the login data and am needing to get the CPU utilization from the RedGateMonitor database.

I've tried this query, but when I look at the server's CPU or compare the results from the Analysis tab, they do not match up.

SELECT
[Cluster_Machine_Processors_CumulativeIdleTime] CurrTime
,LAG([Cluster_Machine_Processors_CumulativeIdleTime]) OVER (ORDER BY [CollectionDate_DateTime]) PrevTime -- compare time from previous reading to the next
,[CollectionDate_DateTime]
into #CPUStuff
FROM [RedGateMonitor].[data].[Cluster_Machine_Processors_UnstableSamples_View]
WHERE [Cluster_Machine_Name] = 'MySQLServer'
AND [CollectionDate_DateTime] > '08/01/2016'

select [CollectionDate_DateTime]
, CurrTime
, PrevTime
, 1.0-(CurrTime - PrevTime) / 1000000000.0
from #CPUStuff

drop table #CPUStuff

Can anyone point me in the right direction?

Thanks,

Comments

• Hi pdxdba,

Is there a reason you are not getting all of these metrics on the Analysis graph within SQL Monitor and then sending the url to your IT exec for the specified timeframes?