Options

getting into Smart Assembly

KrischuKrischu Posts: 2
edited March 14, 2016 12:36PM in SmartAssembly
Hi, I'm new to Smart Assembly. I registered today to learn about the way SA is being used.

A developer of the company I'm working for has left the company and before he left he
gave us an email and password under which he had registered the SA service.

I tried this on this website to no avail.

I need to gather some information:

1. how can I see from our software development tree, which version of SA is being used?
2. When SA is enabled, where do crash reports go? I.e., where can I lookup our crash reports?
3. As far as I understood, there is either a free or low fee way to use SA. Where can I read about it
and the conditions for its use?

I will try to reach the fellow but for now I'd be grateful if someone could anwer my questions.
Thank you.

--
Christoph

Comments

• Options
    Jessica RJessica R Posts: 1,319 Rose Gold 4
    Hi and thanks for your post!

Our forum is separate from our main site, so the former developer may have used his email for purchasing on the main site but may not have registered it for the forums. Apologies for any confusion on this!

Regarding your queries:

1. how can I see from our software development tree, which version of SA is being used?

I'm not sure how to check this from the version control system you have, but you can always check the SA version used on an assembly by opening the assembly in a decompiling tool. It will have a "PoweredBy" assembly attribute with the version of SA used. For example:

[assembly: PoweredBy("Powered by SmartAssembly 6.8.1.60")]

2. When SA is enabled, where do crash reports go? I.e., where can I lookup our crash reports?

SmartAssembly stores your error error reports as well as information about each of your builds in a database (by default, the database.mdb in C:ProgramDataRed GateSmartAssembly).