Large application analysis

efolkertsmaefolkertsma Posts: 3
edited January 27, 2015 4:16PM in ANTS Performance Profiler 8
Recently I have been optimizing our product using the ANTS profiler suite, but I am hitting a couple of issues that prevent me from doing a good job. The main purpose of this post is to hopefully get work around

suggestions for the problems I am having, as I am a beginner user with ANTS. It would also be interesting to hear if RedGate is having some of these issues on their radar for future resolution.

Summary:

1) Memory snapshots are limited to 4 GB
2) Not being able to attach post application launch/pause profiling
3) ANTS hangs the application when I have the application set to use the Server garbage collector
4) Detail of the information

Detailed:

It seems that when I do a memory snapshot (in order to compare 2 to find leaks) it gives me a message that I cannot have snapshots of more than 4 GB for performance reasons. But I have 32 GB of memory and my application 'only' takes 6-8 GB of memory. I could live with a little less performance, even if the memory compare took say 8 hours over night it would at least help me forward. The way it is now prevents me from doing memory captures and pretty much renders the memory analyzer tool useless in 75% of my situations. The CLR memory tracker seems to work fine with 8+ GB, so I do not think there is a technical limitation on the GC side of things. I have spent a lot of time trying to build smaller versions of the tool, using a smaller data set, but in doing so it seems that some of the leakage disappears (probably due to the amount of resources I am using being lowered), so I would have to build multiple variants. This kind of limits the usefulness of the memory profiler in the drop-in sense of working as I have to make custom code/projects to profile.

Perhaps if I could select specifically which DLLs to track memory allocations from this would make it more feasible? (See item 4)