Configure Table Mapping and Owner Mapping via command line

oliveramadeooliveramadeo Posts: 3
edited December 2, 2014 9:09AM in SQL Compare 11
Hi,

I am new to SQL Compare. I'm wondering if there is a way to configure Table Mapping and Owner Mapping using the command line? I want to map the tables from source to target that has different schema name (example; [server1].[schema01].[UserTable] >>> [server1].[schema02].[UserTable]). I also would like to map source schema owner and target schema owner (example; [schema01] >>> [schema02]). I've tried using the UI but I need to implement it using the command line because I will be integrating this process with SSIS package for automation.
Tagged:

Comments

• Hi,

If you were able to set it up successfully in the UI then you can save a project file and then use the project file by adding the /project:<project> (substitute <project> for your project file) switch when you call SQLCompare.exe

Does this help?
    Software Engineer
    Redgate Software
  • Hi Robert,

Thank you for responding on my post. :)

Unfortunately I cannot use the saved project since the servername, databasename, username, password, schema and tables that I am using will all be dynamic. Mapping of schema names will also be dynamic that's why I needed to find out how to do it via command line. This will be used for multiple clients.

Sample Scenarios:

"1st Client"

Source: Target:
    client_db1 prod_db
    dev.table1 >> schema01.table1
    dev.table2 >> schema01.table2

owner mapping:
    dev >> schema01
    schema01 << dev

"2nd Client"
    client_db2 prod_db
    dev.table1 >> schema02.table1
    dev.table2 >> schema02.table2

owner mapping:
    dev >> schema02
    schema02 << dev

"3rd Client"

client_db3 prod_db
    dev.table1 >> schema03.table1
    dev.table2 >> schema03.table2

owner mapping:
    dev >> schema03
    schema03 << dev